Something Productive

I’m attempting to do something productive with my time these days. With all the distractions in my life it’s proving a little bit difficult. I’ve always wanted to be a part of a community that fosters creative spirit and enjoys creating art, whatever that art may be. Right now I’m in the middle of writing an episodic radio play. Well, when I say that I’m in the middle of writing one, I mean I’m almost finished writing the first scene of the first episode. Originally it was going to be of similar structure and feel as Archer. After writing what I’ve written, I feel it might be too similar. Actually, scratch that. It’s a total rip-off. Creatively, this is kinda what I wanted from it. At this point it’s essentially a spec script for an episode of the tv show. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I don’t know if I want to be known as the guy that ripped-off Archer for the purpose of a radio play. Not really my deal.

Write what you know. Right now I’m finding that piece of advice weird. As I sit here in a library (one place I know that I’ll get shit done), listening to Jessie’s Girl, I’m tossing up whether or not to follow that advice. On the one hand, it’s actually great advice. Writing about something that you know should be easy, and not only that, it should feel good when you’re doing it. Who knows what you know better than yourself, right? My problem with this is that this is essentially the first real full script that I’ve written. In the past I’ve written some killer sketches (which I may be putting up here in due time), but they were never longer than about 7 minutes. I guess I’m trying to challenge myself with a full half hour, but it’s proving slightly harder than I thought it would be. I mean, most bands start out playing covers, so why can’t writers write pieces that reflect their influences?

I think I have something that I can do that might satiate both these ideas in my head, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see really.

 

If you enjoy my little ramblings, follow me on Twitter and Instagram on @BenjaminAllan_

Leave a Reply

