The Game of Love

 

Online dating is fun. I’ve done it. Before I was in a relationship that is. When I was engaging in it, I found it really entertaining to flick through and see the type of people that I would match up with. And I’m sure we’ve all been guilty of grabbing our friend’s phone and swiping through their Tinder profile. For this video, I wanted to see how the gamification of online dating had allowed to people to play love as a game, and to what extent people in the wider community saw apps such as Tinder and OkCupid as games. I set out to ask the question: Is love just a game?

 

For the purpose of this video I wanted to ask people directly what they thought of the idea of online dating apps being used as games. I find the vox pop can be an effective way to gather a number of responses in a short amount of time. The different responses that I received while filming this video were incredibly beneficial in helping shape which scholarly sources I used. It did surprise me that a majority of the responses I gathered happened to support the material I was working with. Before I had filmed the vox pops, I was ready to disprove some of the theories that I had found. Turns out that academics kinda know what they’re talking about. A lot of the content that I curated (from the vox pops most specifically) supported the scholarly sources.

 

I’ve always enjoyed making people laugh, and I think that laughter is a great way to introduce and talk about some important topics. I decided to use humour in this video to help deliver what was otherwise a dense topic. Focusing on both online dating and gamification was a choice that I made after trying to find something interesting to research in terms of online dating. I couldn’t quite find anything interesting or with enough depth to turn into a seven minute video. By focusing on the cross-over between the two topics, I found that I was able to think of different strategies to deliver the content in the video.

 

I decided early that I would try and use as little Creative Commons material as possible. This gave me the chance to find creative solutions to finding content for the video. One of the problems I had to deal with was my housemates not being available to film. The way around it? Make it into a joke that they didn’t want to be a part of it. Don’t have actors to play characters in a film? Play them yourself! Simple, creative solutions to problems that could have derailed a different production. Choosing not to use images that I hadn’t gathered myself also meant that I was in front of the camera for more time, something that I haven’t always been comfortable with. The only to get more confidence in being on camera, is to be on camera. This video did wonders for that (even if I still don’t like watching myself back).

 

Through making this video, I discovered that the filming process isn’t all that taxing. It’s the editing process that takes the most amount of time. All up, editing this seven minute video took maybe fourteen hours in total editing time. The editing process taught me that you really can’t be precious when working with a time constraint. If something doesn’t work, you need to kill that darling.

 

Does this mean that I’ll continue making videos? Here’s hoping. It was fun to do and I’m actually a little proud of what I’ve created. Here’s to making more!

 


Music:

Little Romantic Piano by Sweetwaveaudio (sweetwaveaudio.co.uk) (CC BY 3.0)

Dangling Elephant by 60 HZ FQ (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

Amsterdam by LASERS (CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0)

Pop Dance by Bensound.com (www.bensound.com) (CC BY-ND 3.0)

 

References:

Alice, J 2016, ‘Winning someone’s heart: The Bachelor, reality dating and the gamification of love’, Metro Magazine, Issue 190, p100, retrieved 14 May 2017, General OneFile

Kim, B 2015, ‘The popularity of gamification in the mobile and social era’,Library Technology Reports, vol. 51, no. 2, pp. 5-9

Carpenter, C. J., & McEwan, B. (2016). The players of micro-dating: Individual and gender differences in goal orientations toward micro-dating apps. First Monday, vol. 21, no. 5, webpage http://dx.doi.org/10.5210/fm.v21i5.6187

DeMasi, S 2011, ‘Shopping for love: online dating and the making of a cyberculture of romance’, in Seidman, S, Fischer, N and Meeks, C (eds.), Introducing the New Sexuality Studies, Routledge, Abingdon and New York, pp. 206-13

 


My broader ALC203-related online activity:
To be honest, I kind of slacked off for the second half of the trimester when it came to broader online activity. I did make a couple of little videos for Emma’s Tips video, and shared a few little tidbits here and there on the unit hashtag, but I’m happy to say I could have been more involved. Otherwise, see Tiffit Tally.
Leave a Reply

